Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

DOK Premiere: Oskar Fischinger – Musik für die Augen

Oskar Fischinger and his wife Elfriede Fischinger are important pioneers for advertising and animated film in Germany. As early as the 1920s, Oskar Fischinger combined abstract shapes and colors with music in short films. Based on an interview with his wife, the documentary by Harald Pulch and Ralf Ott reconstructs the couple’s life’s work. Numerous of their films were digitally restored for this purpose. The Fischingers created experimental masterpieces for the screen, such as the well-known advertising film “Muratti greift ein,” in which cigarettes march to the beat of classical music. Oskar Fischinger is considered one of the pioneers of the digital present and an innovative designer of moving images. His films are the precursors of modern music videos and his influences can still be felt today.

The Haus des Dokumentarfilms  presents the DOK premiere of OSKAR FISCHINGER – MUSIK FÜR DIE AUGEN (MUSIC FOR THE EYES) in the presence of the two directors. The curators Goggo Gensch (Stuttgart) and Kay Hoffmann (Ludwigsburg) from the Haus des Dokumentarfilms will lead through the cinema evening and the audience discussion.

Tuesday, October 17, 2023, 18:15 CET, Atelier am Bollwerk, Stuttgart Information and Tickets
Wednesday, October 18, 2023, 19:30 CET, Caligari Kino, Ludwigsburg
 | Information and Tickets

Source and more information

DOKVILLE 2023: Medien und Diversität

The Haus des Dokumentarfilms – Europäisches Medienforum Stuttgart e.V. (HDF) organizes its annual industry event DOKVILLE on June 15 and 16, 2023, at the Stuttgarter Hospitalhof (Büchsenstr. 33, 70174 Stuttgart). It is aimed at documentary filmmakers, journalists, representatives of broadcasters and associations as well as the interested public. For participants who cannot be on site, the event will be broadcast as a livestream. The focus of DOKVILLE are documentaries and documentary series.

How do our media outlets implement the demand for diversity and variety? What about discrimination and lack of representation in the documentary industry? And what about the diversity of opinions? Unquestioned framings, cliché traps, and the portrayal of majorities as supposed minorities – even documentary productions are not immune to the uncritical adoption of prejudices and preconceived patterns. DOKVILLE discusses the need for action.

Further information and tickets on www.dokville.de

Source: Press release and website

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

DOK Premiere: Oskar Fischinger – Musik für die Augen

Oskar Fischinger und seine Frau Elfriede Fischinger sind wichtige Pioniere für den Werbe- und Animationsfilm in Deutschland. Schon in den 1920er Jahren kombinierte Oskar Fischinger in kurzen Filmen abstrakte Formen und Farben mit Musik. Auf Basis eines Interviews mit seiner Frau rekonstruiert der Dokumentarfilm von Harald Pulch und Ralf Ott das Lebenswerk des Ehepaars. Zahlreiche ihrer Filme wurden dafür digital restauriert. Die Fischingers erschufen experimentelle Meisterwerke für die Leinwand, etwa den bekannten Werbefilm „Muratti greift ein“, in dem Zigaretten zu klassischer Musik im Takt marschieren. Oskar Fischinger gilt als einer der Wegbereiter der digitalen Gegenwart und innovativer Gestalter von Bewegtbildern. Seine Filme sind die Vorläufer moderner Musikvideos und seine Einflüsse bis heute spürbar.

Das Haus des Dokumentarfilms präsentiert die DOK Premiere von OSKAR FISCHINGER – MUSIK FÜR DIE AUGEN in Anwesenheit der beiden Regisseure. Durch den Kino-Abend und das Publikumsgespräch führen die Kuratoren Goggo Gensch (Stuttgart) und Kay Hoffmann (Ludwigsburg) vom Haus des Dokumentarfilms.

Dienstag, 17. Oktober 2023, 18:15 Uhr, Atelier am Bollwerk, Stuttgart | Infos und Tickets
Mittwoch, 18. Oktober 2023, 19:30 Uhr, Caligari Kino, Ludwigsburg
| Infos und Tickets

Quelle und weitere Infos

DOKVILLE 2023: Medien und Diversität

Das Haus des Dokumentarfilms – Europäisches Medienforum Stuttgart e.V. (HDF) veranstaltet am 15. und 16. Juni im Stuttgarter Hospitalhof (Büchsenstr. 33, 70174 Stuttgart) seinen jährlichen Branchentreff DOKVILLE. Er richtet sich an Dokumentarfilmschaffende, Journalist:innen, Sender- und Verbandsvertreter:innen sowie das filminteressierte Publikum. Für Teilnehmende, die nicht vor Ort sein können, wird die Veranstaltung als Livestream übertragen. Im Fokus stehen Dokumentarfilme und Doku-Serien.

Wie setzen unsere Medien die Forderung nach Diversität und Vielfalt um? Wie steht es um Diskriminierung und fehlende Repräsentation in der Doku-Branche? Wie sieht es mit Meinungsvielfalt aus? Nicht hinterfragte Framings, Klischee-Fallen und die Behandlung von Mehrheiten als vermeintliche Minderheiten – auch dokumentarische Produktionen sind nicht gegen die unkritische Übernahme von Vorurteilen und vorgefertigten Mustern gefeit. DOKVILLE diskutiert den Handlungsbedarf.

Weiterführende Infos und Tickets auf www.dokville.de

Quelle: u. a. Pressemitteilung