Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

The ITFS 2024 German Animation Screenplay Award Nominees!

Photo: ITFS/Reiner Pfisterer

The Stuttgart International Festival of Animated Film 2024 has announced the nominated projects for this year’s German Animation Screenplay Award!

  • Billie Beat (Author: Beke Rienitz)
  • Das NEINhorn (Authors: Marc-Uwe Kling, Marcus Sauermann)
  • The Ogglies – Rexy Alarm! (Author: Toby Genkel)
  • Out of Frame (Authors: Giles New, Keiron Self)

The Award for the best German screenplay for an animated feature film that has not yet been realized comes with a cash prize of 2,500, sponsored by Animation Media Cluster Region Stuttgart (AMCRS).
The German screenplay with the biggest international market potential will receive a prize of € 1,500, donated by Pink Parrot.

The awards aim to promote excellent screenplays for German animated feature film projects in German and English language as well as promising authors, and to highlight the importance of professional screenwriting.

The German Animation Screenplay Award will be presented at the ITFS as part of the AniX Awards on Thursday, April 25 at 19.00 CET in the Filmmakers’ Lounge (Festival Center – Haus der Katholischen Kirche Stuttgart), along with the Trickstar Business Award, which honors the best innovative and forward-looking business model in the animation sector, and the ASIFA Prize, which goes to Michaela Pavlátová this year.

If you would like to find out more about the screenplays and the people behind them, join the Workshop-Talk on Thursday, April 25 at 12:30 CET at Cinema: There, Marco Kreuzer, board member of the VeDRA – Verband für Film- und Fernsehdramaturgie, will talk to the nominees of the German Animation Screenplay Award about dramaturgical work and script development based on the nominated scripts.

The candidates for the Animated Games Award Germany 2024, the € 5,000 prize for the best and most innovative animation-based computer game from Germany, donated by MFG Medien- und Filmgesellschaft Baden-Württemberg, were also announced. The Animated Games Award Germany 2024 will be presented at the ITFS Grand Award Ceremony on Sunday, April 28, 2024.

–> Find out all nominations here!

We keep our fingers crossed for all nominees!

Source: ITFS News, ITFS LinkedIn

SWR TV documentary about current animation projects involving our Creators

Fritzi & Sophie – A Boundless Friendship

The German TV documentary “Frame by Frame – Wie Trickfilmer ticken” by SWR provides insights into the creation of the animated series “Fritzi & Sophie – A Boundless Friendship” and the animated feature film “The Light of Aisha”.

“Fritzi & Sophie” is a co-production of Balance Film Dresden, Trickstudio Lutterbeck Cologne and our CREATORS from Studio Filmbilder in Stuttgart and the first animation series to be produced entirely in Germany. Director and producer Thomas Meyer-Hermann (Studio Filmbilder), director and producer Ralf Kukula (Balance Film) and others involved in the production process will talk about the new technique in animated film of using motion capture in combination with CGI.

Exciting insights into the series and its creation will also be available in a few weeks at the Stuttgart Animated Week at FMX and ITFS. It will also celebrate its world premiere at ITFS (episodes 1-4, episodes 5-8).

Shadi Adib, director of the feature film “The Light of Aisha” and alumna of Animationsinstitut, talks about the making of the international co-production, whose screenplay by Xavier Romero and Llorenç Español won the German Animation Screenplay Award at ITFS 2019 and which is due to be released in cinemas in the fall. Further insights are provided by Kate Forsdick and Holger Tesch from The M.A.R.K. 13 Group in Stuttgart and Peter Keydel from Mago Production in Barcelona.

Take a look!

Directly to feature in the ARD media library, it is available until April 1, 2025.

Recommended reading: “From the drawing board to the cinema: what’s moving the animation industry” on SWR Kultur

Night of Shame on April 26, 2024!

Night of Shame

Night of Shame is the curated film show that celebrates filmmakers’ worst! From charmingly incompetent to all out shameful – established directors excavate their questionable films and submit them to the fascinated gaze of a live audience. An introduction, a screening and an on-stage interview with our host Michael Bohnenstingl. Slightly uncomfortable or outrageously funny! Finally our filmmaker is rewarded by the redemptive applause of a loving crowd. Night of Shame makes you feel humbled, elated, and a bit closer to each other. Because ultimately: “We’re all the same in our shame.”

Be there on Friday, April 26, 2024, at 20.00 CET – during Stuttgart Animated Week (aka ITFS (April 23-28, 2024), FMX (April 23-26, 2024) and APD (April 23-25, 2024)) – when it gets really embarrassing again, but also incredibly funny!

Location: Contain’t, Container City Kunstverein Wagenhalle, Nordbahnhofstraße 1, 70191 Stuttgart

Get your tickets as soon as possible, as experience shows that the show is booked up pretty quickly!

Further information on the Night of Shame website and Instagram

The Night of Shame has already taken place at Animationsinstitut, at the Kaboom Festival in Amsterdam and twice during the Stuttgart Animated Week. It is an event organized by Studio Seufz, hosted by ITFS and Animationsinstitut der Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg and supported by AMCRS, Film Commission Region Stuttgart, Kulturförderung der Stadt Stuttgart, Sono2, contain’t e.V. and Soybloq.

Pre Fixe with Animation Lounge: Die auditive Ebene im Animationsfilm

Together with the Film- und Medienfestival gGmbH (organizer of Stuttgart International Festival of Animated Film) and the AMCRSMFG organizes the Pre Fixe with Animation Lounge as a prelude to the monthly network meeting of the film industry (Jour Fixe), at which speakers from the animation film scene report on current projects using practical examples and provide insights into their work.

On Monday, March 11, 2024 at 18:00 CET, Foley artist and sound designer Luis Schöffend will talk about “Die auditive Ebene im Animationsfilm” (The auditory level in animated film).

In animated films, sound design plays a crucial role as there’s no traditional original sound like in game or documentary films. Foley artist and sound designer Luis Schöffend provides insight into organizational, creative, and technical aspects relevant to sound design in animated films. The presentation is aimed at all professionals in the animation film industry, as well as interested listeners from other fields. Through various film examples, it becomes apparent how handcrafted sounds and creative sound designs breathe life into animated images. And just as diverse as each film is, so too is the consideration for sound design.

Sound creation
Luis Schöffend

Luis Schöffend works as a sound effects artist on animated, dramatic, and documentary films, games, radio plays, theater, and performances. As a sound designer, his work is predominantly heard in animated films and series, as well as in experimental formats. The films and their sound design in which Luis has been involved have been recognized multiple times, including winning the German Film Award (“Lola, Best Sound Design”) and at the Filmfest Dresden (“Goldener Reiter, Filmton”).

The event will take place at the Kulturzentrum Merlin, Augustenstraße 72, 70178 Stuttgart. Admission is free.

More information

Talent Meet-Up BW 2024

Are you at the beginning of your own start-up, currently immersed in developing a new game, or still studying – perhaps “something with media”? Do you come more from an (academic) background but wish to connect with others from the animation, film, and games industries because you value cross-industry exchange? Do you welcome inspiration from a wide range of media sectors, enjoy meeting new people, and aren’t afraid of technological innovation?

Then the TALENT Meet-up BW 2024 is the right thing for you! Apply now for one of the 20 spots in this free, exclusive program with a unique networking opportunity.

Immerse yourself in the Stuttgart Animated Week together with other young professionals and visit the FMX – Film & Media Exchange (April 23-26, 2024), the Stuttgart International Festival of Animated Film (April 23-28, 2024) and the APD Conference (April 23, 2024) of the Animation Production Days with a free Combi Ticket. You will be supported in networking, you will receive individual program tips and the framework for the best possible exchange – with each other and in the international industry. Last but not least, you will get to know regional support services and contacts so that nothing stands in the way of your professional future in THE LÄND.

Application Deadline: March 15, 2024

This way to more information and the application form!

Initiated and organized by: MFG Baden-WürttembergStuttgart Region Economic Development CorporationFilm Commission Region StuttgartFilmakademie Baden-WürttembergAnimationsinstitut, AMCRS

Get your tickets for FMX and ITFS!

In a few weeks, Stuttgart will once again become a hotspot for the animation and VFX industry and for animation fans worldwide when the FMX – Film & Media Exchange conference, the Stuttgart International Festival of Animated Film and the Animation Production Days open the doors to their visitors.

FMX (Photo: Dominique Brewing)
ITFS Gala (Photo: Reiner Pfisterer)
APDs (Photo: Reiner Pfisterer)

The FMX will take place from April 23 to 26, 2024 on site at Haus der Wirtschaft. Numerous presentations will subsequently be available online on demand from April 27 to May 31. The ITFS will take place in Stuttgart from April 23 to 28, 2024 at various locations and on Stuttgart’s Schlossplatz. The co-production market Animation Production Days will be organized as a cooperation between FMX and ITFS from April 23 to 25, 2024.

From now on, FMX Conference, Day and Online Passes as well as ITFS Festival and Professional Passesare are available in their ticket shops. Worthwhile for visiting both events is a Combi Pass which is available in both the FMX and ITFS ticket shops (until March 15 at the Early Bird rate).

Ticket shop FMX | Website FMX

Ticket shop ITFS | Website ITFS

Registration APD | Website APD

Diploma Project WORLD OF GRA Creates Visuals for FMX, ITFS and APD

Source: Press Release Animationsinstitut, Ludwigsburg, January 23, 2024

Stills World of Gra, Credits: World of Gra von Mucks! Games, Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg

The development of story worlds at the Animationsinstitut has yet another success story: the 2023 diploma project WORLD OF GRA is the face of three leading animated media events in Europe. The conference FMX – Film & Media Exchange (April 23-26, 2024), the Stuttgart Festival of Animated Film (ITFS) (April 23-28, 2024) and the Animation Production Days (APD) (April 23-25, 2024) all chose WORLD OF GRA as their motif for the just released event trailers and visual designs.

For the very first time, custom trailers for each event have been created – each with its own story, focus and theme – by the same authors, from the same narrative universe, illustrating the harmonious spirit of synergy between the three events of “Stuttgart’s Animated Week.” Dr. Jan Pinkava, Director of the Animationsinstitut, welcomes the choice of WORLD OF GRA and sees it as a significant win-win situation: “I am delighted that our talented alumni have created such a beautifully resonant and meaningful collection of graphics and trailers for this year’s FMX, ITFS, and APDs. This is the best of all worlds for the three events, for our graduates, for the Animationsinstitut, and for Stuttgart’s ‘Animated Week’. Congratulations.

WORLD OF GRA is a universe of many different stories that share one overarching theme: growth. The beings of the WORLD OF GRA all have one big problem. They grow and grow and just won`t stop growing. Clara Deitmar, the creator of WORLD OF GRA, believes that this theme is a universal human experience – life means change, growth, moving on.

Mirroring the IP itself, all of them have grown personally and artistically throughout the creation process and their Interactive Media studies at the Animationsinstitut. The production of the visuals and trailers for FMX, ITFS and APD 2024 marks a special milestone, as the producer Julius Dorsel explains: “It’s a badge of honour to be selected to provide the trailers for all three events! A bit intimidating and just wonderful that so many people are going to see our characters on the big screens.

Trailer FMX 2024
Trailer ITFS 2024
Trailer APD 2024

Call for Entries Animated Games Award Germany 2024

The Stuttgart International Festival of Animated Film (ITFS) is calling for entries for the Animated Games Award Germany 2024. The prize of 5,000 euros is sponsored by the MFG Medien- und Filmgesellschaft Baden-Württemberg mbH. It is aimed at developers of computer games in Germany and is intended to strengthen the content-related integration of games and animated film and promote the artistic quality of games. The ITFS 2024 will take place from April 23 to 28, 2024.

Deadline for registration and submission of games for the preselection: February 1, 2024

Regulations | Registration form

All ITFS 2024 competitions

Photo: ITFS/Reiner Pfisterer

Pre Fixe with Animation Lounge: Animating Pumuckl

Together with the Film- und Medienfestival gGmbH (organizer of Stuttgart International Festival of Animated Film) and the AMCRSMFG organizes the Pre Fixe with Animation Lounge as a prelude to the monthly network meeting of the film industry (Jour Fixe), at which speakers from the animation film scene report on current projects using practical examples and provide insights into their work.

Revealing the invisible: Animating Pumuckl“ will be the topic on December 11, 2023 at 18:00 CET.

The Pumuckl series brought the radio play character of the goblin to television for the first time in the 1980s. The magic of the series was created in particular by the interplay between the actor Gustl Bayrhammer and the wild, lovable cartoon character of Pumuckl. This adaptation of Ellis Kaut’s books is still very much present in reruns and in the nostalgic memories of the current generation of parents and grandparents. For the new edition of the series by director Marcus H. Rosenmüller, Ludwigsburg-based Studio Soi was commissioned to provide the new animations for the title character. With such a new edition, the question arises as to what should be changed in a contemporary realization. How close do the animators stay to the original? What technology and look could the new Pumuckl use to inspire children again?

Torben Meier, Studio Soi
Michael Hockey, Studio Soi

Michael Hockey, Animation Supervisor, and Torben Meier, co-founder of Studio Soi, will give an insight into these decisions and the working methods of the animation studio. The presentation will be held in English.

The event will take place at the Kulturzentrum Merlin, Augustenstraße 72, 70178 Stuttgart. Admission is free.

More information

Annegret Richter new Artistic Director of Film- und Medienfestival gGmbH!

Annegret Richter, Photo: Martin Jehnichen

Press Release, November 30, 2023

Complete Press Release and CV Annegret Richter

In June of this year, Heike Mozer took over the commercial management, and now the artistic position of the Film- und Medienfestival gGmbH (FMF) has also been filled: Annegret Richter, an experienced curator and festival organiser who has known and accompanied the Stuttgart International Festival of Animated Film (ITFS) for years, is taking over.

Heike Mozer and Annegret Richter would like to lead the ITFS into the future and to re-establish it as an annual highlight in the festival calendar for the German and international animated film industry. “We complement each other in different areas and have a very similar view of things when it comes to fundamental issues. It is important to us to create places for encounters, as well as to connect filmmakers, the industry, and the audience. With Annegret, I now have a creative partner by my side,” emphasises Heike Mozer. Together, the managing directors want to further develop the ITFS and intensify the synergies with FMX and the APDs. 

It is a great opportunity and honour for me to work with Heike Mozer and the FMF team to develop the festival for the future,” says the experienced curator Annegret Richter, whose expertise is also highly valued at the ITFS. Her many years of networking in industry and networking projects make her an experienced, interested and passionate advocate for animated film. In her new role, she wants to work to strengthen animation: “Animation tells the important stories and issues of our time. In my opinion, animation for adults does not yet receive enough visibility. That’s why I think the festival also has a task for society as a whole to bring audiences into contact with the films and the filmmakers. Especially people who perhaps didn’t even know that animated film was relevant to them.

Annegret Richter worked as festival director at the short film festival “Filmfest Dresden”, was head of the animated film section at DOK Leipzig and has been managing director of AG Animationsfilm since 2016. She also regularly curates film programmes and has been a member of festival juries and selection committees. She is also familiar with current developments and discourses through teaching assignments and her work as a lecturer.

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

Die Nominierten des Deutschen Animationsdrehbuchpreises beim ITFS 2024!

ITFS/Reiner Pfisterer

Das Internationale Trickfilm-Festival Stuttgart 2024 hat die nominierten Projekte für den diesjährigen Deutschen Animationsdrehbuchpreis bekanntgegeben!

  • Billie Beat (Autorin: Beke Rienitz)
  • Das NEINhorn (Autoren: Marc-Uwe Kling, Marcus Sauermann)
  • The Ogglies – Rexy Alarm! (Autor: Toby Genkel)
  • Out of Frame (Autoren: Giles New, Keiron Self)

Der Deutsche Animationsdrehbuchpreis in Höhe von 2.500 € geht an das beste Drehbuch für einen abendfüllenden, noch nicht realisierten Animationsfilm und wird von den Animation Media Creators Region Stuttgart gestiftet.
Das Drehbuch mit dem größten internationalen Marktpotential erhält einen Preis in Höhe von 1.500 €, gestiftet von Pink Parrot.

Ziel der Preise ist es, vielversprechende Autor*innen zu fördern, zur Verbesserung der stofflichen Qualität und des internationalen Marktpotentials von Animationsfilmen beizutragen sowie die Bedeutung des professionellen Drehbuchschreibens hervorzuheben.

Der Deutsche Animationsdrehbuchpreis wird beim ITFS im Rahmen der AniX Awards am Donnerstag, 25. April um 19 Uhr in der Filmmakers‘ Lounge (Festival Centre – Haus der Katholischen Kirche Stuttgart) verliehen. Dort wird auch der Trickstar Business Award vergeben, der das beste innovative und zukunftsweisende Geschäftsmodell im Animationsbereich auszeichnet, sowie der ASIFA Prize, der in diesem Jahr an Michaela Pavlátová geht.

Wer mehr über die Projekte und die Menschen dahinter erfahren möchte, sollte am Donnerstagmittag, 25. April um 12.30 Uhr zum WERKSTATTGESPRÄCH ins Cinema kommen: Dort spricht Marco Kreuzer, Vorstandsmitglied des VeDRA –Verband für Film- und Fernsehdramaturgie, mit den Nominierten des Deutschen Animationsdrehbuchpreises über dramaturgische Arbeit und Drehbuchentwicklung anhand der nominierten Drehbücher.

Zudem wurden die Anwärter*innen für den Animated Games Award Germany 2024 verkündet, dem Preis für das beste und innovativste animationsbasierte Computerspiel aus Deutschland in Höhe von 5.000 €, gestiftet von der MFG Medien- und Filmgesellschaft Baden-Württemberg. Der Animated Games Award Germany 2024 wird im Rahmen der Großen ITFS-Preisverleihung am Sonntag, 28. April 2024 vergeben.

–> Erfahrt hier alle Nominierungen!

Wir drücken allen Nominierten die Daumen!

Quelle: ITFS News, ITFS LinkedIn

SWR-Doku über aktuelle Animationsprojekte

Fritzi & Sophie – Grenzenlose Freundschaft

Die SWR-Dokumentation „Frame by Frame – Wie Trickfilmer ticken“ gibt Einblicke in die Entstehung der Animationsserie „Fritzi & Sophie – Grenzenlose Freundschaft“ sowie den Animationslangfilm „The Light of Aisha“.

„Fritzi & Sophie“ ist eine Koproduktion von Balance Film Dresden, Trickstudio Lutterbeck Köln und unseren CREATORS vom Studio Filmbilder in Stuttgart und die erste rein in Deutschland produzierte Animationsserie. So berichten u. a. Regisseur und Producer Thomas Meyer-Hermann (Studio Filmbilder), Regisseur und Producer Ralf Kukula (Balance Film) und weitere am Entstehungsprozess Beteiligte über z. B. die im Animationsfilm neue Technik, die durch Schauspielerinnen und Schauspieler mittels Motion Capture gedrehten Daten auf CGI-Figuren zu übertragen.

Spannende Einblicke in die Serie und ihre Entstehung gibt es zudem in wenigen Wochen vor Ort bei der Stuttgart Animated Week bei der FMX und dem ITFS. Bei letzterem feiert sie außerdem ihre Weltpremiere (Folge 1-4, Folge 5-8).

Shadi Adib, Regisseurin des Kinofilms „The Light of Aisha“ und Alumna des Animationsinstituts erzählt über die Entstehung der internationalen Koproduktion, deren Drehbuch von Xavier Romero und Llorenç Español den Deutschen Animationsdrehbuchpreis beim ITFS 2019 gewonnen hat und die im Herbst in die Kinos kommen soll. Weitere Einblicke geben u. a. Kate Forsdick und Holger Tesch von The M.A.R.K. 13 Group in Stuttgart sowie Peter Keydel von Mago Production in Barcelona.

Schaut rein!

Direkt zum Beitrag in der ARD-Mediathek, er ist noch bis 1. April 2025 verfügbar.

Night of Shame am 26. April 2024!

Night of Shame

Die Night of Shame ist die kuratierte Filmschau, die die schlechtesten Filme der Filmschaffenden feiert! Von charmant inkompetent bis echt beschämend – etablierte Regisseur*innen graben ihre fragwürdigsten Filme aus und stellen sich den faszinierten Blicken eines Live-Publikums. Eine Einführung, eine Vorführung und ein Interview auf der Bühne mit unserem Gastgeber Michael Bohnenstingl. Leicht unangenehm oder absolut komisch! Am Ende wird unser*e Filmemacher*in durch den erlösenden Applaus eines liebenswerten Publikums belohnt. Die Night of Shame macht demütig, beschwingt und bringt uns ein Stück näher zueinander. Denn letztendlich gilt: “We’re all the same in our shame.”

Seid dabei, wenn es am Freitag, 26. April 2024, um 20 Uhr – während der Stuttgart Animated Week (aka ITFS (23.-28. April 2024), FMX (23.-26. April 2024) und APD (23.-25. April 2024)) – wieder echt peinlich, aber auch unglaublich lustig wird!

Location: Contain’t, Container City Kunstverein Wagenhalle, Nordbahnhofstraße 1, 70191 Stuttgart

Holt euch schnell eure Tickets, denn die Show ist erfahrenermaßen ziemlich schnell ausgebucht!

Weitere Infos auf der Night of Shame-Webseite sowie Instagram

Die Night of Shame fand bereits im Animationsinstitut, auf dem Kaboom Festival in Amsterdam sowie zweimal während der Stuttgart Animated Week statt. Sie ist ein Event von Studio Seufz, wird gehostet von ITFS und Animationsinstitut der Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg und unterstützt von AMCRS, Film Commission Region Stuttgart, Kulturförderung der Stadt Stuttgart, Sono2, contain’t e.V. und Soybloq.

TALENT Meet-up BW 2024

Steht ihr am Anfang der eigenen Gründung, steckt gerade mitten in der Entwicklung eines neuen Games oder studiert noch – vielleicht „was mit Medien“? Kommt ihr mehr aus der (geistes-)wissenschaftlichen Richtung, wollt euch aber mit anderen aus der Animations-, Film- und Games-Branche vernetzen, weil ihr den branchenübergreifenden Austausch schätzt? Impulse aus den verschiedensten Medienbereichen nehmt ihr dankend an, ihr liebt es, neue Leute kennenzulernen, und habt keine Angst vor technologischer Innovation?

Dann seid ihr beim TALENT Meet-up BW 2024 genau richtig! Bewerbt euch jetzt für einen von 20 Plätzen in diesem kostenfreien, exklusiven Programm mit einmaliger Netzwerkgelegenheit.

Taucht zusammen mit anderen Young Professionals in die Stuttgart Animated Week ein und besucht mit einem kostenfreien Kombiticket die FMX – Film & Media Exchange (23.-26. April 2024), das Internationale Trickfilm-Festival Stuttgart (23.-28. April 2024) sowie die APD Conference (23. April 2024) der Animation Production Days. Ihr werdet unterstützt bei der Vernetzung, ihr bekommt individuelle Programmtipps und den Rahmen für einen bestmöglichen Austausch – untereinander und in der internationalen Branche. Nicht zuletzt lernt ihr regionale Unterstützungsangebote und Ansprechpartner*innen kennen, sodass eurer professionellen Zukunft im THE LÄND nichts mehr im Weg steht.

Bewerbungsdeadline: 15. März 2024

Hier geht’s zu weiteren Infos und zum Bewerbungsformular!

Programmverantwortliche: MFG Baden-Württemberg, Wirtschaftsförderung Region Stuttgart, Film Commission Region Stuttgart, Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg, Animationsinstitut, AMCRS

Ticketshops von FMX und ITFS eröffnet!

FMX (Photo: Dominique Brewing)
ITFS Gala (Photo: Reiner Pfisterer)
APD (Photo: Reiner Pfisterer)

Im Frühjahr wird Stuttgart wieder zum Hotspot der Animations- und VFX-Branche sowie für Animationsfans weltweit, wenn die Fachkonferenz FMX – Film & Media Exchange, das Internationale Trickfilm-Festival Stuttgart und die Animation Production Days die Tore für ihr Publikum öffnen.

Das Branchenevent FMX findet statt vom 23. bis 26. April 2024 vor Ort im Haus der Wirtschaft. Zahlreiche Präsentationen sind im Anschluss vom 27. April bis 31. Mai online on demand verfügbar. Das ITFS bespielt Stuttgart vom 23. bis 28. April 2024 an verschiedenen Orten sowie auf dem Stuttgarter Schlossplatz. Der Co-Produktionsmarkt Animation Production Days wird als Kooperation von FMX und ITFS vom 23. bis 25. April 2024 ausgerichtet.

Ab sofort sind im Ticketshop der FMX sind Conference, Day und Online Passes erhältlich, beim ITFS gibt es Festival und Professional Passes (Kino- und weitere Tickets ab Anfang April). Für den Besuch beider Events lohnt sich ein Combi Pass (noch bis 15. März zum Early Bird-Tarif), der sowohl im FMX- wie auch im ITFS-Ticketshop erhältlich ist.

Ticketshop FMX | Webseite FMX

Ticketshop ITFS | Webseite ITFS

Registrierung APD | Webseite APD

Diplomprojekt WORLD OF GRA kreiert Visuals für FMX, ITFS und APDs 2024

Quelle: Pressemitteilung Animationsinstitut, Ludwigsburg, 23. Januar 2024

Stills World of Gra, Credits: World of Gra von Mucks! Games, Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg

Die Entwicklung von Story-Welten am Animationsinstitut schreibt eine weitere Erfolgsgeschichte: das 2023er Diplomprojekt WORLD OF GRA ist das Aushängeschild von drei führenden europäischen Veranstaltungen im Bereich Animated Media. Die Fachkonferenz FMX – Film & Media Exchange (23.-26. April 2024), das Internationale Trickfilm Festival Stuttgart (ITFS) (23.-28. April 2024) und die Animation Production Days (APDs) (23.-25. April 2024) wählten alle WORLD OF GRA als Motiv für ihre kürzlich veröffentlichten Event-Trailer und Designs.  

Zum ersten Mal wurden somit für jedes Event eigene Trailer mit individueller Story und Thema von denselben Animator*innen aus demselben narrativen Universum erschaffen. Das unterstreicht das harmonische Zusammenspiel der drei Veranstalter von „Stuttgart`s Animated Week“. Dr. Jan Pinkava, Leiter des Animationsinstituts, begrüßt die Wahl von WORLD OF GRA und sieht hierin ausschließlich Profiteure: „Ich bin begeistert von den wunderschönen und ausdrucksstarken Trailern und Grafiken, die unsere Alumni und Alumnae für die FMX, das ITFS und die APDs kreiert haben. Das Beste aus allen Welten für die drei Events, für unsere Absolvent*innen, für das Animationsinstitut und für ‚Stuttgart’s Animated Week‘. Herzlichen Glückwunsch.

WORLD OF GRA ist eine Welt, die viele verschiedene Geschichten beheimatet, dabei aber an einem übergreifenden Thema festhält: Wachstum. Alle Lebewesen der WORLD OF GRA kämpfen mit dem gleichen Problem, dass sie wachsen und wachsen und gar nicht mehr aufhören weiterzuwachsen. Clara Deitmar, die Regisseurin der WORLD OF GRA, sieht in dieser Prämisse eine universelle menschliche Erfahrung – Leben bedeutet Veränderung, Wachstum, Weiterziehen.

Wie in der WORLD OF GRA selbst ist das Team im Laufe des Entstehungsprozesses und Studiums der Interaktiven Medien am Animationsinstitut persönlich und künstlerisch gewachsen. Die Fertigstellung der Event-Trailer und Visuals für FMX, ITFS und APDs markiert einen besonderen Meilenstein, wie Producer Julius Dorsel betont: „Es ist eine große Ehre, die Trailer für alle drei Veranstaltungen liefern zu dürfen! Ein bisschen einschüchternd und einfach wunderbar, dass so viele Menschen unsere Charaktere auf den großen Leinwänden sehen werden.

Trailer FMX 2024
Trailer ITFS 2024
Trailer APDs 2024

Call for Entries Animated Games Award Germany 2024

Das Internationale Trickfilm Festival Stuttgart (ITFS) hat erneut den Animated Games Award Germany ausgeschrieben. Der Preis in Höhe von 5.000 Euro wird von der MFG Medien- und Filmgesellschaft Baden-Württemberg mbH gestiftet. Er richtet sich an Entwickler*innen von Computerspielen in Deutschland und soll die inhaltliche Verzahnung von Games und Animationsfilm stärken sowie die künstlerische Qualität von Games fördern. Das ITFS 2024 findet vom 23. bis 28. April 2024 statt.

Anmelde- und Einsendeschluss der Spiele für die Vorauswahl: 1. Februar 2024

Reglement | Anmeldeformular

Alle Wettbewerbsausschreibungen des ITFS 2024

Photo: ITFS/Reiner Pfisterer

Pre Fixe mit Animation Lounge: Animating Pumuckl

Gemeinsam mit der Film- und Medienfestival gGmbH (u. a. Internationales Trickfilm-Festival Stuttgart) und dem AMCRS veranstaltet die MFG den Pre Fixe mit Animation Lounge als Vorprogramm zum monatlichen Netzwerktreffen der Filmbranche (Jour Fixe), bei dem Referent*innen aus der Animationsfilmszene anhand von Praxisbeispielen über aktuelle Projekte berichten und Einblicke in ihre Arbeit geben.

Revealing the invisible: Animating Pumuckl“ heißt das Thema am 11. Dezember 2023 um 18:00 Uhr.

Die Serie Pumuckl brachte in den 80er Jahren die Hörspielfigur des Kobolds erstmals ins Fernsehen. Die Magie der Serie entstand insbesondere im Zusammenspiel des Schauspielers Gustl Bayrhammer mit der wilden, liebenswerten Zeichentrickfigur des Pumuckl. In Wiederholungen und in der nostalgischen Erinnerung der jetzigen Eltern- und Großelterngeneration ist diese Umsetzung der Bücher von Ellis Kaut weiterhin sehr präsent. Für die Neuauflage der Serie von Regisseur Marcus H. Rosenmüller wurde das Ludwigsburger Studio Soi beauftragt, die neuen Animationen der Titelfigur beizusteuern. Bei einer solchen Neuauflage stellt sich die Frage, was bei einer zeitgemäßen Umsetzung verändert werden sollte. Wie nah bleiben die Trickfilmer am Original? Mit welcher Technik und mit welchem Look könnte es der neue Pumuckl, schaffen Kinder wieder zu begeistern?

Einen Einblick in diese Entscheidungen und in die Arbeitsweise des Animationsstudios geben Michael Hockey, Animation Supervisor, und Torben Meier, Mitgründer von Studio Soi in der Animation Lounge. Der Vortrag wird in englischer Sprache gehalten.

Torben Meier, Studio Soi
Michael Hockey, Studio Soi

Das Event findet statt im Kulturzentrum Merlin, Augustenstraße 72, 70178 Stuttgart. Der Eintritt ist frei.

Mehr Info

Annegret Richter ist die neue künstlerische Leiterin der Film- und Medienfestival gGmbH!

Annegret Richter, Foto: Martin Jehnichen

Pressemitteilung, 30. November 2023

Zur vollständigen Pressemitteilung und zur Vita Annegret Richters

Im Juni dieses Jahres hat Heike Mozer die kaufmännische Geschäftsführung übernommen, nun ist auch die künstlerische Position der Film- und Medienfestival gGmbH (FMF) neu besetzt: Mit Annegret Richter übernimmt eine erfahrene Kuratorin und Festivalmacherin, die das Internationale Trickfilm-Festival Stuttgart (ITFS) seit Jahren kennt und begleitet.

Heike Mozer und Annegret Richter möchten als Doppelspitze das ITFS für die deutsche wie die internationale Animationsfilmbranche als jährlichen Höhepunkt im Festivalkalender neu etablieren. „Wir ergänzen uns in unterschiedlichen Bereichen und haben bei den grundsätzlichen Fragen einen sehr ähnlichen Blick auf die Dinge. Wichtig ist uns, Orte der Begegnung zu schaffen und die Filmemacher*innen, die Branche und das Publikum zu vernetzen. Mit Annegret steht jetzt eine kreative Mitstreiterin an meiner Seite“, betont Heike Mozer. Zusammen wollen die Geschäftsführerinnen das ITFS weiterentwickeln und die Synergien zur FMX und den APDs intensivieren. 

Es ist eine große Chance und Ehre für mich, gemeinsam mit Heike Mozer und dem Team der FMF das Festival zukunftsfähig auszubauen“, sagt die erfahrene Kuratorin Annegret Richter, deren Kompetenz auch beim ITFS sehr geschätzt wird. Ihre langjährige Netzwerkarbeit bei Branchen- und Vernetzungsprojekten macht sie zu einer qualifizierten, interessierten und leidenschaftlichen Verfechterin für den Animationsfilm. In ihrer neuen Rolle möchte sie sich für die Stärkung der Animation einsetzen: „Animation erzählt die wichtigen Geschichten und Themen unserer Gegenwart. Meines Erachtens bekommt Animation für Erwachsene noch nicht genügend Sichtbarkeit. Deshalb finde ich, dass das Festival auch eine gesamtgesellschaftliche Aufgabe hat, Publikum mit den Filmen und den Filmemacher*innen in Kontakt zu bringen. Besonders Menschen, die vielleicht noch nicht einmal wussten, dass Animationsfilm für sie Relevanz hat.

Annegret Richter war als Festivalleiterin beim Kurzfilmfestival „Filmfest Dresden“ tätig, leitete den Bereich Animationsfilm beim DOK Leipzig und ist seit 2016 Geschäftsführerin der AG Animationsfilm. Darüber hinaus kuratiert sie regelmäßig Filmprogramme und war Mitglied in Festivaljurys sowie Auswahlkommissionen. Auch durch Lehraufträge und die Arbeit als Dozentin ist sie vertraut mit aktuellen Entwicklungen und Diskursen. 

Call for Entries für den Deutschen Animationsdrehbuchpreis beim ITFS 2024 gestartet!

ITFS Trickstars (Photo: Reiner Pfisterer)

Das Internationale Trickfilm-Festival Stuttgart (ITFS, 23.-28. April 2024) schreibt den Deutschen Animationsdrehbuchpreis für das beste Drehbuch eines Animationslangfilms aus. Wir, das AMCRS, freuen uns sehr, das Preisgeld von 2.500 € zu sponsern!

2023 ging der Preis für das beste Drehbuch an CLARISSA, Drehbuch: John Chambers, Produktion: XFilme Creative Pool GmbH, Produzent*in: Uwe Schott.

Darüber hinaus vergibt das ITFS auch 2024 den Preis für das Drehbuch mit dem größten internationalen Marktpotenzial. Der Preis ist mit 1.500 € dotiert und wird von Pink Parrot gestiftet.

Ziel der Auszeichnungen ist es, exzellente Drehbücher für deutsche Animationsfilmprojekte in deutscher und englischer Sprache sowie vielversprechende Autoren zu fördern und die Bedeutung des professionellen Drehbuchschreibens zu unterstreichen.

Die Einreichfrist für beide Preise endet am 1. Februar 2024.

Anmeldung und Reglement